Films I Watch When I’m Sad

Films are a great way to distract myself when I’m going through something or am feeling the dementors rolling in. I just grab some food, a tumbler filled with juice, put the ac on, wrap myself in a blanket, and lose myself in movies. Here’s my go-to list of films that I watch to pick myself up (in no particular order):

Scott Pilgrim vs the World (2010)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This has got to be one of my all time favorite movies (possibly tops my list of favorites). I love the story, portrayal, editing, style, shots, music, characters (and the actors). I’ve read the graphic novel and I swear to god if you’ve ever wished that a movie stay true to its book this is it (well except of course at the end where he chooses who he’ll end up with but other than that it was straight from the graphic novel). Complete with the video game like special effects. Even the actors look EXACTLY like the characters. Casting was superb. This movie always picks me up because it is such a light and playful movie but guaranteed to take you to another world.

The Darjeeling Limited (2007)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Wes Anderson is an AMAZING director. It’s hard to pick a favorite from his roster of films but The Darjeeling Limited tops my list and is an amazing watch when you’re feeling down. I love the story and the character developments. I love have you get to know them on a personal level through their journey with their father’s death, their relationship with their mother, their brotherhood, as they get lost but find themselves through the unique Indian culture. The scenes and the shots are breathtaking, I always loved the bright warm colors in this movie.

Stuck in Love (2012)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This one is a gem. It tells the story of a family of writers all struggling with love. Their stories captivated me because they’re all going through something different and they’re all in different stages of their lives. It’s a very relatable movie and gives me hope when I’m a bit heart broken.

sign

Leave a Reply

