Game Review | Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End

23815901722_4d1edf4ed1_b.jpg

I just got a PlayStation 4 this past Christmas and the first game I played was Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End. Truly deserving it’s Best Game of the Year nomination, this video game consumed me and I finished it in less than a week. Here’s my little review of the game I fell in love with.

WARNING: Spoilers ahead!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Just when we thought Nathan Drake retires for good, he takes us on another adventure–the last adventure. This time around, we get to know him better by bringing us to his past. He is reunited with his older brother, Sam Drake, as they go find the treasure that started it all: Henry Avery’s Treasure. All I can say is, what a finale to the amazing Uncharted franchise. I still can’t believe it’s over and I’ll never get to take Nathan Drake on another treasure hunt ever again.

One thing that got me about this game is the STUNNING scenery and visuals. Every time I reach a high place, I can’t help but admire the scenery for a minute or two. Absolutely beautiful!

The game is as immersive as ever, puzzles getting cleverer and cleverer each time you face one. The game play is smooth and there are no shortage of weapon variety, which I really like about action-adventure games. The goons and villains have gotten smarter and more challenging. The signature climbing and swinging from high places still make me hold my breath as it is matched with views like the photos above.

I like a game with a great story and this, being the end of the franchise, was beautiful. What a way to end the series but by taking Nathan Drake back to where he started–as a mischievous kid discovering treasure hunting with his big brother Sam. I also love that they introduced us to Cassie, Elena an Nate’s daughter, in the end. I love how she is the perfect mix of the two and that the series ends with her. I know that Naughty Dog announced that this was the end of the Uncharted franchise but I can’t help but hope that Cassie Drake will continue the work of her parents into, hopefully, a new franchise. Fingers crossed!

I did however, came across a few glitches. They were hilarious though, so I don’t mind.

Overall an amazing game that deserves Best Game of the Year alongside Overwatch, of course. I was rooting for this one!

My Rating: ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

