Album Review: The Maine’s Lovely Little Lonely

themaine_newalbum17.jpg

I’ve been highly anticipating The Maine’s latest album, Lovely Little Lonely, and as always they did not disappoint. The Maine has a way of creating album after album that sounds totally different from the last, creating fresh and raw music with every track. I still find myself unable to pick a favorite song from this one. It’s a god given talent that I am happy they share with the rest of the world. On April 7, 2017, they released Lovely Little Lonely.

The album varies from head banging upbeat to calm and mellow slow tempo. I also love that the album name is spelled out throughout the tracks, 3. Lovely, 7. Little, 11. Lonely.

Let’s take this track by track, shall we?

  1. Don’t Come Down

It’s the perfect intro to this album. It has hints of their old sound, youthful and catchy. It gets you expecting for circa 2012 The Maine music. This song is perfect for road trips with your feet on the dashboard and laughing with your friends.

2. Bad Behavior

They released this one as a single and released a music video trailer as well. The ‘yeah yeah yeah’ part always gets me screaming with John. An upbeat song that’ll definitely get you dancing and the lyrics inevitably getting stuck in your head.

3. Lovely

The album starts to slow down by track three, Lovely which is kinda the intermission or the intro to the next part of the album and merges perfectly to track 4. The track kinda reminds me of late 90s early 2000s music.

4. Black Butterflies and Deja Vu

This is also a song they released as a single. This song kinda sounds like another The Maine song though, I just can’t put my finger on to which one. This is a great song to listen to at 4pm on a rooftop. I can’t tell if this is supposed to be a sad song.

5. Taxi

This is one of the slower tracks. Again, this has an old vibe to it. Almost as if its a late 90s song that randomly played on the radio while you’re on an afternoon drive on a hot day.

6. Do You Remember (The Other Half of 23)

The  mood lifts a bit with this track. One of those songs that makes you feel old cos it gets you reminiscing the younger years of your life where you could be wild and reckless.

7. Little

An intermission with a catchy drum beat and faint whispers that are hard to catch.

It hit me today

If it weren’t for you, always just where you are

Not where you’ll always be

So wherever you are in the world

I want you to be there

And only there

Since life would be shitty before we move forward [?]

I feel a sense of goodness sinking inside me [?]

Trembling in my soul [?]

You should know

I hope you find whatever it is you’re looking for

How good it feels to find the one

Again its the perfect intro for the next track.

8. The Sound of Reverie

Probably one of my favorites from this album, The Sound of Reverie. It’s just so catchy and such a great song to sing along to. I’d like to say that this song may be the anthem of my 20s. I relate so much! The song also has whispers in the middle of the song similar to that of the Little track.

(It’s tough to be anything these days

They tell me how much of right now is ours to take

Some say the passing of time is bittersweet

But I think I love time the most when I’m with you

The truth doesn’t mean a thing)

9. Lost in Nostalgia

Another song that feels like a 90s slow rock hit. Perfect for the title. The melody of the bass is just so catchy! It’s a short 1:40 song tho and I wish it was longer!

10. I Only Wanna Talk to You

This one is definitely 90s inspired. It’s chill and mellow and kinda reminds me of songs on the radio when I was a kid, like hits from Savage Garden or something.

11. Lonely

The slowest song on the track and the only intermission with complete lyrics and lasts almost 3 mins.

12. How Do You Feel?

The last track of the album lets us go wanting to put the album on loop. Its one of those songs with a great build up and a drop that I can’t help but bang my head to—even when I’m at work!

Definitely one of their best albums yet, Lovely Little Lonely takes us on a nostalgic experience that is raw and soulful. I’ve been listening to this album non-stop since it came out (okay maybe took a break to listen to Kendrick Lamar’s bomb album DAMN.) (Will try to post an album review for DAMN. too, dw). Hoping I get to see them live again because I can’t imagine how awesome it’ll be to listen to these tracks live!

Rating: ★★★★

Leave a Reply

